My Reaffirmation of Christian Faith

“And we know that all things work together for good for those who love God and are the called according to His purpose.”

Romans 8:28

Dear Christian Friend,

It has been over a year now since I left the bosom of the Bible belt, deep in the heart of Texas. During my time of study in Princeton, I often go to the majestic University Chapel on the center of campus to seek the Lord and reflect upon my life together in God.

I am a life-long believer in Christ, I am awed by my salvation in Jesus Christ. What God has done in sending His Son Jesus Christ to be the propitiation for our sins is incomprehensible to me.

As a longtime  student of Christian theology and Church history and have had the opportunity to study at some of the finest Christian academic institutions in the world. And while my primary interests now lie in politics, current events and political philosophy, I essentially see myself as a conservative Christian with deep roots within historic Christianity.

If you really want to know, I most identify with conservative Anglicanism. I strongly believe in the historic creeds of the historic Christian church, Evangelical theology and the protestant doctrine of justification alone. I deeply respect the ancient liturgy and solemnity of creedal Anglican worship and see myself aligning more with conservative forms of this Christian communion than anything else.

This is not to say that I have not been deeply wounded by Evangelicals and Southern Baptists. In fact my wounds in these movements are so deep and abiding that I cannot foresee myself ever being apart of an Evangelical church or Southern Baptist Church again.

Yet, recently I found myself in a very uncomfortable crossroads in my life. As I become increasingly visible in conservative and Libertarian circles throughout the United States, I do not want to appear as a hostile opponent of Christianity, because I am in fact, not.

I have given this a lot of thought, and I do not want to be Christopher Hitchens type critic of Christianity.  I apologize for my incessant criticism of American Evangelicalism and fundamentalist forms of Christianity. I realize it does not benefit me to do so and I would appreciate your prayers.

I want to use this reaffirmation of my Christian faith as a sort of truce with conservative Evangelicals and Southern Baptists.

For the record, I am an orthodox Christian who maintains a robust faith in Jesus Christ. While I am socially progressive and politically Libertarian, I love Christ and His Church.

I do most definitely identify as being part of the historic Church and faith once and for all delivered to the saints.

I want to affirm faith in Christ and love for His Church, world without end, Amen.

I sincerely apologize for my caustic criticisms of Evangelicals at times.

You brother and friend in the mystery of God’s Incarnate Son,

Lee Edward “Ed” Enochs

I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.

I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord,
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit
and born of the virgin Mary.
He suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;
he descended to hell.
The third day he rose again from the dead.
He ascended to heaven
and is seated at the right hand of God the Father almighty.
From there he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

Leave a Reply

