Why I Will Not Support the Gary Johnson and Bill Weld Libertarian Ticket for Any Reason

I Will Not Support the Gary Johnson and Bill Weld Ticket for Any Reason Whatsoever 

by Lee Enochs

Dear Liberty Nation,

Barring a major upset, Gary Johnson and Bill Weld will be nominated as the Libertarian Party Presidential ticket.

This is absolutely unacceptable to me. While I am no Gary Johnson fan, Bill Weld is not a Libertarian by any stretch of the imagination.

Weld’s views on gun control, eminent domain and other important issues pertaining to Liberty are repugnant to me and I cannot support him for any reason.

I can support the Libertarian Presidential ticket only if Austin Petersen and a similar person with Petersen’s views are on the ticket.

Because of this, after much prayer and deep, deep soul searching, I have decided to remain in the Republican Party and not transfer my political membership and affiliation to the Libertarian Party.

There are are many reasons other than the Gary Johnson / Bill Weld controversy for this. First of all, I have been a “Libertarian-leaning” Republican all of my life.

Secondly, my views on the sanctify of life directly contradict the Libertarian party platform. While I am very sympathetic to the Libertarian Party, I just can’t make that jump at this time.

I will work with Republicans, Libertarians, Independents, Democrats and anyone who loves Liberty, believes government is too big, wants to reduce the national debt and spending.

If you want to know where I stand politically, it with the Rand Paul, Justin Amash, Thomas Massie and Dave Brat “Liberty-wing” of the Republican Party, not with Gary Johnson and Bill Weld.

 

image

 

Sorry my Libertarian friends, I just cannot support Gary Johnson and Bill Weld. I believe they are closet liberals that will destroy the libertarian message.

Your Friend in Liberty,

Lee Enochs

The Libertarian Shaman

Leave a Reply

