How George W. Bush’s Stupid War in Iraq Made Me a Libertarian Christian Rebel

A Senseless War in a Place We Should Have Never Gone in the First Place Tore the Blinders Off My Eyes and Made Me Doubt the Republican and Evangelical Establishment I Came From 

by Lee Enochs 

Princeton, New Jersey 

“If you try and address something that changes the status quo of a political system you better be prepared to be crucified.”

John McAfee

The last Iraq War pissed me off and changed my life forever. I now speak truth to power and don’t give a rip if I offend anyone. I am a Libertarian and Christian rebel. I do not always get it right, but I will always be right or wrong with unquenchable passion.

Once upon a time, I was a good Evangelical and Republican boy. I went to all the right Evangelical Christian schools. I was a Republican to the core. I never doubted for a second that my Republican leaders could be wrong.

This all changed for me during the most recent Iraq war that saw America invade a country thousands of miles from home for no reason at all.

This senseless war did it for me. It showed me that foreign military invention by America in far off places like Iraq and Syria are not right. America should not be attempting to force our neo-Liberal version of Democracy on external countries.

George W. Bush’s war in Iraq directly caused the deaths of over 500,000 Iraqi’s and more than 5,000 American troops. Why? For what reason? Weapons of Mass Destruction? Terrorism? Come on man. You and I know that is B.S.

American interventionism and expansionism of neo-Liberal Democracy is a great evil. We have no business trying to police the world when we cannot police ourselves.

I confess to you that there was a time in my life where I was the most loyal GOP member imaginable. This all changed for me during the Iraq War.

I now believe we should not intervene or go to war in a foreign country unless we are being personally attacked.

I used to conform to whatever the Republican Party and the Evangelical leaders around me said was right. Now I am a Libertarian Christian rebel and I do not care who is offended by this at all.

I speak truth to power and I do it with passion.

Leave a Reply

