Karl Barth Saved My Life

How a Godless Libertarian Found Christ In the Writings of a  Dead Swiss Theologian 

by Lee Edward Enochs 

“I was found by those who did not seek me” (Isaiah 65:1 and Romans 10:20).

“Thus in this oneness Jesus Christ is the Mediator, the Reconciler, between God and man. Thus He comes forward to MAN on behalf of GOD calling for and awakening faith, love and hope, and to GOD on behalf of MAN, representing man, making satisfaction and interceding. Thus He attests and guarantees to God’s free GRACE and at the same time attests and guarantees to God man’s free GRATITUDE.”

― Karl Barth, The Humanity of God

I have a confession to make. I have found God. Rather, a better way of articulating this is that God found me when I was not looking for Him at all.

Truth be told, I had all but lost my faith in the institutional church after my horrid experiences in American Evangelicalism.

Though I never lost faith in Jesus Christ, my desire to be involved in the context of the local church was almost shattered by the profound bankruptcy I saw in Evangelicalism.

And while I attended some of the most prominent Evangelical and Southern Baptist academic institutions and churches in America, I saw very little evidence of authentic Christianity, and the culture of celebrity worship,  authoritarianism, pragmatism and consumerism greatly disillusioned me.

Due to my wretched experiences in the Southern Baptist Convention and American Evangelicalism, I had all but abandoned any desire to be involved in that expression of Christianity.

Since coming to Princeton for graduate studies, I had jettisoned my once passionate desire to minister in an Evangelical context and have been very involved in Libertarian politics.  So much so, that over a quarter of a million people have encountered my various Ayn Rand influenced Libertarian writings and videos in the last couple of years.

Yet, some of the insights of the late German speaking Swiss theologian Karl Barth have long intrigued me. in reality and truth be told,  I do not agree with Karl Barth’s deficent view of Scripture nor am I concerned with Barth as a historical figure, but I have been profoundly impacted by Karl Barth’s Christocentric theology.

Karl Barth has showed me that the essence and totality of human existence is directly connected to Jesus Christ and His sacrificial atonement on the cross.

I find it ironic that this hardened Libertarian who essentially lost his faith has found God in Christ again in a secular place.

As the Apostle Paul argued in His Epistle to the Romans, that God is found when we are not looking for Him and that salvation is in Christ and His cross alone by grace through faith.

“For I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God unto salvation to the Jews first and also to the Greeks. For in it the righteousness of God is revealed, as it is written, the just shall live by faith.”

(Romans 1:16-17)

Leave a Reply

